PcoWSkbVqDnWTu_dm2ix

Team Create

Team Create

Team Create is a Roblox Studio tool that allows for simultaneous place/script editing among groups of developers. Once enabled, developers with the correct permissions can invite others, and each editor can see the changes others make while they work.

Setup

Enabling Team Create

In order to start editing a place with other developers, access the View tab and click Team Create:

With the window open, press the Turn ON button:

Adding and Removing Editors

Once Team Create is active, the window will show a list of users who are allowed to edit the place. Each user will be automatically assigned a user color (the color behind their avatar image) to help identify them during the session.

If you’re the game’s owner or you have the correct articles/Group Games#editing-roles|permissions in a group, you can add editors as follows:

  1. Access Game Settings from the Home tab:
  1. Select the Permissions tab.
  2. In the Collaborators section, search for an editor by Roblox username/group and click to add them as a collaborator.
  1. Select Edit from the permission dropdown:
Conversely, you can remove an editor by clicking the in their list row:

Accessing a Session

Those who have been invited to edit a place can join a Team Create session as follows:

  1. Close all currently open places in Studio (or close and reopen Studio).
  2. Click the My Games button in the left column.
  3. Select the Shared With Me tab, or select the Group Games tab if it’s a /articles/Group Games|group game.
  1. Locate and open the place to begin editing.

Chat Window

A useful tool while collaborating is the Chat panel, accessible via ViewChat.

To start chatting, click on the text box, type a message, and press Enter to send it. Messages in the chat window will be labeled by the user’s color outlined above.

Collaborative Building

In a Team Create session, objects can be manipulated by all editors. This workflow differs slightly from solo editing as described in the following sections.

User Color

As noted earlier, each editor in a session is assigned a color which appears behind their avatar image in the Team Create window. When an editor selects objects, a selection box in their color will appear around the objects in the 3D view:

Likewise, the objects in the Explorer window will show a colored dot indicating which editor has them selected.

Undo/Redo

Undo and redo work mostly the same as they do in solo mode, with a few small differences. If multiple people have made edits to a part or instance, pressing Undo for that object will revert it to the state before you made a change and revert all changes that other editors might have made following your latest edit.

Collaborative Scripting

In a Team Create session, game scripts are stored in a central cloud-based repository which is accessible by all collaborators. This gives you the ability to:

  • Independently work on the same script that others are editing.
  • Know when others are working on a script.
  • Test changes locally before committing them to the cloud.
  • Compare and commit your script changes to the cloud when ready.

Editing and Testing

While in a Team Create session, you can open a script as usual, even if it’s being edited by another user. Once you make a change, it will be added to the Drafts window. These drafts will be automatically saved and persist between Studio sessions on the same machine.

Comparing Scripts

At any time, draft(s) can be compared to their cloud version by right-clicking them and selecting Compare with server.

This will open the Diff Result window. Red indicates code on the server that was changed or deleted. Green shows the updated code. You can compare the line numbers to help determine what to keep.

Applying Edits to Server

To apply your changes to the cloud version(s), select one or more drafts in the Drafts window, right-click, and select Commit.

Merging Changes

If another developer applies changes to the same script when you’re editing it, an icon with a green symbol will appear next to the script in the Drafts window.

At this point, you can select one or more drafts, right-click, and select Merge from server to open the merge tools window. In this window you can see the latest edits in relation to your own. If there are conflicting changes, you can pick which code to keep, or make manual edits.

  • Check Draft to keep your changes, or leave it unchecked to discard them.
  • Check Server to merge the changes into your draft, or leave it unchecked to ignore them.
  • Check Other to manually edit the script and save the changes to your draft.

Once you check the desired options, you can toggle the Preview Resolution switch to preview how the script will look.

Restoring Deleted Scripts

If another developer deletes a script that you’re editing, you’ll see an icon with a red symbol in the Drafts window:

To restore your version(s) back into the game, select one or more drafts in the Drafts window, right-click, and select Restore Script.

Publishing and Saving

Saving changes while using Team Create works a bit differently than in solo Studio. When Team Create is active, Studio will auto-save the project to the cloud every five minutes. Changes made between auto-saves will not be published, so updating a live game still requires explicit publishing via FilePublish to Roblox.

Rolling Back Changes

Owners can revert changes just like anyone can for games made in solo mode:

  1. On the game’s page, click the button.
  2. Select Configure this Place.
  3. Click on Version History.
  4. Choose an earlier version and click Revert to this version to roll back.

Turning Off Team Create

If you’re the game’s owner or you have the correct articles/Group Games#editing-roles|permissions, you can turn off Team Create by clicking the button at the bottom of the Team Create window and selecting Disable Team Create. Any other user in the session will be ejected and won’t be able to join again until Team Create is re-enabled.