PcoWSkbVqDnWTu_dm2ix

10 min

Paid Access is a method of monetization that allows you to charge a one-time Robux fee in order for users to access an experience.

This feature limits the number of users that will access your experience, as some users won’t want to pay the fee. However, since you can use it to create a closed beta, many developers temporarily enable Paid Access so their most engaged users can have early access to an experience to help with testing and feedback.

An example image of the Buy Item dialog that a user will see when they try to pay the Paid Access fee for an experience.

A Paid Access fee can be anything from 25 to 1000 Robux. Once a user pays this fee, they’ll continue to have access to that experience even if you increase the price or disable Paid Access. Your Robux earnings from Paid Access purchases go into escrow for up to 7 days before being paid out.

Note that if you enable Paid Access, you can still sell Game Passes, gear, and items within the experience.

Enabling Paid Access

Before you can enable paid access, your account must be at least 30 days old and your experience must be public to all users.

To enable paid access:

  1. In the Home tab of the menu bar, navigate to the Settings section and click Game Settings. The Game Settings dialog displays.
An example image of the menu bar with the Game Settings icon highlighted.
  1. In the left-hand navigation of the Game Settings dialog, click Monetization.
  2. Enable the Paid Access toggle. Additional settings display.
An example image of the Game Settings dialog with the Paid Access toggle and settings highlighted.
  1. In the Price field, enter the amount of Robux you want a user to pay to access your experience.
  2. Click the Save button.

Restrictions

All users with accounts at least 30 days old can enable Paid Access for their experiences. However, these experiences cannot:

  • Break any of the Community Standards and Terms of Use.
  • Only be available to friends or group members. The experience must be available to everyone.
  • Have private servers.
  • Earn Premium Payouts. However, you can still review the experience’s Premium Payout Score.
  • Allow copying from other users. When you enable Paid Access, your experience will automatically disallow copying.
  • Be broken or otherwise unplayable. If so, and a larger number of users submit complaints, the experience will be quarantined. The developer will have the opportunity to fix any issues, but any earnings from that experience at the time of quarantine that are still in escrow will be refunded to buyers.