PcoWSkbVqDnWTu_dm2ix
We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience

Collaborative Development

Collaborative Development

Sep 25 2019, 1:56 PM PST 10 min

Team Create is a Roblox Studio tool that allows for simultaneous place editing with other people. Once enabled, developers with the correct permissions can invite friends to join and edit. Everyone editing the place can see the changes others are making while they work.

Setup

Enabling Team Create

In order to start editing a place with friends, first make sure the place is published to Roblox. Once it’s published, access the View tab and click the Team Create button.

With the window open, press the Turn ON button. This will restart Studio, so don’t be alarmed when it temporarily reloads.

Adding and Removing Users

Once a place has Team Create enabled, the window will change to show a list of users who are allowed to join and edit the place.

You can add a friend to the list by entering their Roblox username in the “Invite a friend” field at the top of the Team Create window:

To remove someone from the list, simply right-click their name and select Delete. That user will be ejected from the active session and won’t be able to join again unless invited.

Accessing a Session

Those who have been invited to edit a place can join a Team Create session by navigating to the place’s page on the Roblox website, clicking the button, and selecting Edit. This will launch Studio and automatically join the current session.

Building Together

The following sections explain what working together in Roblox Studio will look like.

User Color

Each user in a Team Create session is assigned a color which appears behind their character thumbnail in the Team Create window. When a user selects objects, a selection box in that user’s color will appear around them in the 3D view.

Likewise, the objects in the Explorer window will show a colored dot indicating which user has them selected.

Scripting

In a Team Create session, multiple users cannot make changes to the same script at the same time. If someone begins editing a script, it will be automatically locked to that user. As soon as that user closes the script tab, the script changes will be saved and the lock released, allowing others to edit it.

Undo/Redo

Undo and redo work mostly the same as they do in solo mode, with a few small differences. If multiple people have made edits to a part or instance, pressing Undo for that object will revert it to the state before you made a change and revert changes that other editors may have made after your last edit.

Testing

For details on testing a game while collaborating with others, see articles/Game Testing|Game Testing Modes.

Chat

A useful tool while collaborating in Team Create is the Chat panel, accessible via ViewChat. To start chatting, click on the text box, type a message, and press Enter to send it. Messages in the chat window will be labeled by the user’s color outlined above.

Publishing and Saving

Saving changes while using Team Create works a bit differently than in solo Studio. When Team Create is active, Studio will auto-save the project to the cloud every five minutes. Changes made between auto-saves will not be published, so updating a live game still requires explicit publishing via FilePublish to Roblox.

Rolling Back Changes

Owners can revert changes just like anyone can for games made in solo mode:

  1. On the game’s page, click the button.
  2. Select Configure this Place.
  3. Click on Version History.
  4. Choose an earlier version and click Revert to this version to roll back.

Turning Off Team Create

To stop using Team Create and return to solo mode, click the button at the bottom of the Team Create window and select Disable Team Create. Any other user in the session will be ejected and won’t be able to join again until Team Create is re-enabled.

Tags:
  • team create
  • collaborate
  • group