Team Create is a Roblox Studio tool that allows you to simultaneously edit your places with other people. When you enable Team Create in a place, you can invite your friends to join you to edit. Everyone editing the place will see the changes others are making as they are happening. You can see where the other editor’s cameras are, what they are selecting, and can even chat to coordinate your creation.
In order to start editing your place with your friends, first click on the View tab and then click the Team Create button. This window is where you will control who has access to edit your game.
To use the Team Create features, the place must first be published. You can either publish the game through the File menu like normal, or click the Publish button in the Team Create window.
After your place is published, you can enable Team Create by clicking the Turn ON button in the Team Create window.
Adding and Removing People
After a place has Team Create enabled, the window will change to show a list of users who are allowed to join and edit the place. The owner of the place will be listed at the top.
You can add someone to the list by typing in their Roblox username into the “Invite a friend” field at the top of the Team Create window. After you have typed their name, press Enter and they will appear in the list of users.
If you want to remove someone from the list, simply right-click on their name and select Delete. Once removed from the list, the user will be removed from the active session and will be unable to join again unless invited.
Turning Off Team Create
If you want to stop using Team Create and edit a place in the solo Studio mode, click on the […] button at the bottom of the Team Create window and select Turn OFF Team Create. Any other user in the Team Create session will be removed and won’t be able to join again until Team Create is enabled again and that user is invited.
Editing Another Person’s Place
If you have been invited to edit someone else’s place via Team Create, you can join the session by navigating to the place’s page on the Roblox website, clicking the […] button, and selecting Edit. This will launch Studio and automatically join the current Team Create session.
When a user joins a Team Create session, they are assigned a color. This color will appear behind their character thumbnail in the Team Create window. When a user selects a part in the 3D view, a selection box in that user’s color will appear around their selection.
Likewise, the selection in the Explorer will have a dot next it it in the color of the user who has the item selected.
The user’s camera will also be displayed in the 3D view. The arrow in the user’s camera indicates which direction their camera is pointed.
One of the limitations of Team Create is that two people cannot make changes to the same script at the same time. If you edit a script in a Team Create session, that script will be automatically locked to you as soon as you start making changes to it. While a script is locked, no other editors will be allowed to make changes to the script. As soon as you close the script editor, the changes you made are saved to that script and the lock is released, allowing others to edit it.
Undo and redo work mostly the same as they do in solo mode, with a few small differences. If you undo, Studio will revert changes to parts and instances that you’ve manipulated. This can get a little complicated if other people have been working with the same objects. If you undo an object back to an earlier state, any changes that other users made to that after you will be undone as well.
For details on testing a game while creating with others, see
Articles/Game Testing|Game Testing Modes.
Part of Team Create is the chat panel. You can use this to chat and coordinate with the other editors. The chat interface uses the same commands as chat in the Roblox client. To start chatting, click on the text box, type your message, then press Enter to send it. If you close the chat panel, it can be reopened by clicking on the Chat button on the View tab.
Publishing and Saving
Publishing a Team Create place works a little differently than in solo Studio. You cannot manually publish a game like you can in solo. Instead, Studio will automatically publish your game every 5 minutes when Team Create is enabled.
Auto-saves are useful when working with others to make sure no work is lost. But since the auto-saves are often saving unfinished work, it is not recommended for a production slot. If you are working with others on a game, it is recommended to use two slots: an inactive game to work built with Team Create, and an active game built in solo mode.
To move your game from the Team Create version, you can export your game from Studio. Edit the game and select File → Download a Copy. This will save the game as a
.rbxl file to your computer. You can then open this file and publish it to your production slot.
Rolling Back Changes
You can revert changes made to your game just like you can for games made in solo mode. On the game’s page, click the […] menu button, select Configure Place, then click on Version History. The version list here is ordered by the publish time. You can click on Revert to this version to change the current version of the game.