PcoWSkbVqDnWTu_dm2ix
We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience

Resetting Players

Resetting Players

Jul 03 2018, 9:41 AM PST 2 min

Resetting is part of Roblox’s terminology. Resetting in Roblox can refer to many things. You can reset a place to a default baseplate. You can reset Studio mode after clicking play. In this specific case, resetting refers to destroying your player so you respawn.

To do so, click the menu button in a Roblox game. Then, proceed to click the reset button, then confirm. This feature is built into all Roblox places, and for developers who don’t want players to be randomly destroyed, can be extremely annoying. There are several ways to prevent it from working, even though doing so is strongly not recommended and it is recommended to instead try to adapt your game.

  • Change the Humanoid’s name in the Player character. This may, however, break some scripts in your game, so be careful. Use the below script in a LocalScript to achieve this:
-- Use in a local script --
repeat wait(0.03) until game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character and game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character:FindFirstChild("Humanoid") --Wait until the player's character loads.  
game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character.Humanoid.Name = "NewHumanoid" -- Rename to your desire.
  • Use the Model/BreakJoints method on the player’s character. This shouldn’t break any scripts in your game. This is a way of doing it in a LocalScript:
-- Use in a Local Script --
repeat wait(0.03) until game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character
game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character:BreakJoints() --Effectively kills the player
Tags:
  • round-based
  • gameplay
  • humanoid
  • scripting